Listen up, Wikipedia!

 

Wikipedia Anti-AssyrianMarch 19, 2017

The discrimination against Assyrian Christians does not stop in the Middle East. It is allegedly exercised daily on Wikipedia where anyone from any walk of life can take on the role of a so-called editor. I say so-called because a large number are not remotely qualified to take on the role of an editor, however, Wikipedia’s formula allows for anyone to jump in and start editing. The problem with this setup is that biographies of living persons can and do often times become targeted by individuals or groups whose motives are to push forward their own agenda and spread misinformation online. Their bullying tactics are atrocious.

I have been witnessing an alarming trend where these so-called Wikipedia editors are allegedly actively seeking to eradicate the Assyrian identity from articles about Assyrians. I have personally experienced this anti-Assyrian trend and bullying for the past several years, since an article about me was created on Wikipedia. This is also true in the case of family members who also have articles on Wikipedia. This is a blatant assault and discrimination against Assyrians.

Article 15 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states that Everyone has the right to a nationality, and No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality nor denied the right to change his nationality.

My birthplace does not define my nationality. I am a U.S. citizen and I choose America as my home where I have lived much of my life.

Listen up, all you so-called Wikipedia Editors, Admins, Contributors, and other Biographers who continually alter my nationality based on your limited knowledge of who I am, just stop. I will not be misrepresented and bullied by Wikipedia or anyone else particularly so-called Iranian Wikipedia editors who seem to be under the impression that they have the final say with their nauseating anti-Assyrian discussions. When I, as the subject of the article declare that I am an Assyrian-American, there should be no further discussion.

Since Wikipedia has blocked me, and my representatives from making corrections to an article that is about me, and does not directly respond to requests, I will therefore continue to call out these so-called editors and Wikipedia here on my blog, my Personal Website, Twitter, Facebook Fan Page, and other social media outlets until the bullying stops. Wikipedia’s alleged discrimination and hatred towards Assyrian Christians must be exposed.

The following entries are just the latest attacks on my Assyrian identity. I will continue to post updates below.

♢♦︎♦︎♦︎♢♦︎♦︎♦︎♢♦︎♦︎♦︎♢♦︎♦︎♦︎♢

March 7, 2017

It has come to my attention that a Wikipedia editor who goes by the named LouisAragon is at it again trying to change my Assyrian identity to Iranian on a Wikipedia Article about me and then proceeded to add me to various Iranian groups. There is no dispute and it is not up for discussion by anyone that my nationality was not, is not, and will never be Iranian. It is not for LouisAragon or anyone else to alter this reality or make misrepresentations as this Wikipedia so-called editor has been doing for a few years. LouisAragon’s obsession with me, verging on cyber stalking, is extremely alarming and Wikipedia needs to put a stop to it immediately, restore my nationality to Assyrian-American, and remove me from any and all Iranian categories, and groups on Wikipedia.

March 8, 2017 Update

Wikipedia’s all-knowing-so-called editor, LouisAragon, continues to argue/rant that he/she knows my nationality better than I (being the subject and primary source), assumes to know how many years I’ve spent in Iran and now further assumes to knows the birthplace of my parents to be Iran. Is this how these so-called editors contribute to Wikipedia? By assumption or bullying? Really? LouisAragon can best serve Wikipedia by refraining to inflict his/her views on biographies of living people. Perhaps this so-called editor’s skills should be exercised on biographies of the dearly departed. There’s bound to be less objections at least directly from the subjects of the articles.

March 19, 2017 update

After my previous blog post on the same subject was brought to the attention of LouisAragon, he/she reverted my nationality to Assyrian-American, removed a few Iranian categories, and vowed, “Any further picosecond wasted on this is a lost one.” I had hoped he would be lost for good. But on the heels of LouisAragon’s pledge to control the obsession with my nationality, a new so-called-all-knowing Wikipedia editor who goes by name, ZxxZxxZ, took up where LouisAragon left off.

I find it to be a curious that of all the articles on Wikipedia, these two converge on mine with the same changes. Perhaps LouisAragon and ZxxZxxZ are one and the same since the edits on the article about me directly focus on my nationality and exhibiting the same type of sick obsession.

ZxxZxxZ claims “there is no such thing as Assyrian-American,” and concludes that I must be Iranian-American! It is disgusting to see how anti-Assyrian these so-called Wikipedia editors are and to what lengths they will go to in order to slap and Iranian identity on me.

ZxxZxxZ, stop obsessing and bullying. I’m not Iranian! Never was! Never will be! This is an insult to me, to my family, and to the entire Assyrian nation. I demand that my nationality be corrected to what it legally is: Assyrian-American. Further, I demand to be removed from all Iranian lists, categories, and groups.

March 20, 2017 update

My Assyrian-American nationality has be restored…for the moment. However, I am furious to still be included in all Iranian lists, categories, and groups.

NOTE: This article will be updated as developments take place.

/RMY

